If you have DomuS3D 2026.R3 or later and enable this feature, DomuS3D automatically creates backups of your projects while you work, to protect your project from possible anomalies, unexpected closures, computer theft, disk failure, etc...
WARNING: for medium-to-large organisations with multiple standalone licences (regardless of their geographical location), back-end tools are available that allow you to set up this configuration remotely. Contact us to find out more
How to enable Automatic backup (for an individual licence)
To enable this mode, open the program’s Options window. Go to the General tab, where you will find the Project backup section at the bottom. Here is how to use it:
Enable backup when closing the project: enables automatic saving (which takes place when closing the project: whenever you save and close the project, the application will first save the project locally, then take a few extra seconds to create the backup version of the file, which will subsequently be sent to the specified backup folder while you work with the program, without slowing down your work).
Reduced format (pjpl): this new format considerably reduces the size of the project package file while retaining all the plan information. We recommend enabling this option
-
Project backup path: Project backup is carried out in a folder (which must be selected when setting up this feature) that can be accessed by DomuS3D. The following can be specified for the program:
a folder on the same PC (we do not recommend this option because, if your computer experiences an anomaly, it will no longer be possible to recover the saved projects)
- a folder on a NAS, server or external disk available on the LAN
- a folder in the cloud (Dropbox, OneDrive, etc...)
Maximum number of previous versions (maximum 3): by entering a number other than 0, you can specify the number of previous versions to retain. These files are saved in a dedicated folder named “BAK” located in the save folder. This is useful when a project has been saved with an error. The previously saved versions allow you to access an earlier copy of the project.
How to restore backed-up projects
Within the ribbon, in the HOME section under the IMPORT/EXPORT command, the Restore projects from Backup command has been added.
This command allows you to load all the projects saved in the Backup folder and can be useful if you need to reinstall the program and cannot recover the previous data because it has been lost.
When you restore projects, Domus checks whether projects with the same identification TAG are already present. In cases of conflict (the same project is present on the disk with a date older than the backup), the projects on the disk will always be overwritten.
At the end of the procedure, a dialogue box displays a summary of the operations carried out, and a log file (backup_restore_log.txt) is created inside the “...\\Domus3D\Bin\” folder, showing the following statuses :
- Existing projects not overwritten: the local copies had a date more recent than or equal to the backup packages-> not imported
- New projects or copies: backup packages with no corresponding local copy -> imported
- Overwritten projects: packages with conflicts -> overwritten